Lifting the Lid series – Books 1-3 now available as a box set


The first three books in the ‘Lifting the Lid’ series are now available as a box set of e-books. No fancy cover as in this image unfortunately, but buying all three books together is a fair bit cheaper than buying them all separately.

The price of the box set right now means you’ll be getting all three e-books (900+ pages) for the price of two. This may not always be the case, although it’s definitely true at the moment.

Click here to check out the box set on Amazon

‘Dishing the Dirt’ – Some reviews so far

It’s now almost three months since ‘Dishing the Dirt’ was published, and I’m pleased to say it’s been pretty well received so far. Many thanks to everyone who’s read the book and posted a review on Amazon, Goodreads, etc. Here are some of my favourites so far:

DTD break glass mockup

Another great read. The pages turn themselves and the laughs leap out at you.

Enjoyable, funny and brilliant.

This has been a tough year for everyone, but even if you can’t go to your favourite holiday destination you can at least escape into the wonderful world that this author creates for you.

A superb follow up in this series.

Some excellent twists and turns right up until the very end.

During lockdown, I re-read Rob’s entire back-catalogue, and I laughed over again at the shenanigans and mishaps of the two hapless detectives.

Do yourself a favour and bring some fun into your life…you will not regret it.

Never fails to bring a smile, even on multiple readings.

Flipping brilliant.

Can’t wait to read more of Rob’s books.

It gets better and better.

The storyline whisks you along in a fantastic story.

Click here to read more reviews

Click here for more details of Dishing the Dirt

Click here to buy Dishing the Dirt

‘Dishing the Dirt’ – New novel coming soon

‘Dishing the Dirt’ is the third book in the ‘Lifting the Lid’ series. Available for pre-order from Sunday 18th April

It’s been quite a while since ‘Heads You Lose’, the second book in the ‘Lifting the Lid’ series, so at long last Book 3 is now ready for publication. Trevor and Sandra are still in Greece, running Marcus Ingleby’s taverna, but also doing a bit of detective work on the side.

Perhaps not surprisingly, this leads them into all kinds of trouble, including blackmail, kidnapping and murder, which teaches them the valuable lesson that careless talk costs lives – and with zero chance of a refund.

Click here for more details.

Click here to read the opening chapters.

Spotlight on Comedy Thriller Author Rob Johnson

Interview with Jennifer S. Alderson

I’m always happy to talk about my writing, of course, so I was delighted when Jennifer S. Alderson invited me to do exactly that on her excellent website at

In the interview, I answer such questions as:

Where do you do your best writing?

Why do you write the kinds of books you do?

What is the inspiration behind your latest novel?

What inspired you to be a writer?

Do you recognize yourself in any of your characters?

And even if you’re not in the least bit interested in my answers to these questions, there are a couple of rather nice photos on the interview page here.

‘Heads You Lose’ – Out now on Kindle!

Heads You Lose – the sequel to Lifting the Lid and the second novel in my ‘Lifting the Lid’ series – is now available as an e-book from Amazon. (Paperback edition to follow soon.)

Click here for more information about the book.

Click here to read the first four chapters.

Click here to buy Heads You Lose.

Coming soon! The sequel to ‘Lifting the Lid’

The assignment in Greece might have been the answer to Trevor and Sandra’s problems except for one thing. Someone was trying to frame them for murder… with a watermelon.

Heads You Lose FINAL

Cover design by Brian Ground from an original illustration by Penny Philcox © 2014

Heads You Lose is the second novel in my ‘Lifting the Lid’ series and will be published very soon – first as a Kindle e-book and then in other e-book formats and as a ‘proper’ paperback.

Final publication details will be announced here in the next few days, but in the meantime…

Click here for more information about the book and to read the first four chapters.